Parent ReadingJodi PicoultAlly CarterRobert MuchamoreMaggie StiefvaterLi CunxinRick RiordanTamora PierceJohn FlanaganAndy GriffithsEnglish Classics to ReadComing of Age BooksBooks to read if you like John Green
Search TipsOrganising and NotetakingHow to Write an EssayHow To Avoid PlagiarismDatabasesThere's More To GoogleSenior Guide to Writing Essays
Copyright Free Images, Music and VideosAlright to Copy?Referencing and Bibliographies
EvernotePreziPinterestTwitter
Google ChromeGoogle MailGoogle CalendarGoogle DriveGoogle DocsGoogle SlidesGoogle FormsGoogle SheetsGoogle ClassroomGoogle KeepGoogle Sites
Ipad FeaturesHow to Delete Photos from Your IpadAdvanced Tips for using Your IpadEssential Apps for teachersSixty Apps for teaching in Sixty MinutesIMovie AppMaking a Book Trailer using iMovie
Albert, The Curriculum ExpertMaking Interactive Videos using ClickviewInteractive Videos with Ed Puzzle
Mac Tutorials - Switch from WindowsMac Tutorials - BeginnerMac Tutorials - IntermediateMac Tutorials - Advanced
Tools to flip your classroom
Kahoot
This is the "Databases" page of the "woodlawnlibrary/home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

woodlawnlibrary/home  

This guide is the main site for St. John's College Woodlawn Library. Here you can find assistance with reading, research, referencing and the latest technology to use in the classroom.
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2017 URL: http://woodlawn.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online News Sites

Online Newspapers & World News Services

Australian Newspapers Online
http://www.nla.gov.au/npapers/

Online Newspapers
Gateway to online newspapers.
http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/

World Press Review
http://www.worldpress.org/index.htm

Google News
Search and browse 4,500 news sources updated continuously.
https://news.google.com.au/

ABC Online
http://www.abc.net.au/default.htm

Australian News Network
http://www.news.com.au/

CNN News
http://www.cnn.com/

HeadLine Spot
Photojournalism, news photos.
http://www.headlinespot.com/type/photos/

NewsConnect
http://www.multied.com/20th/index.html

Today’s Front Pages
http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/

Online Periodicals & Newspaper databases

Newstext

Newspaper articles form The Herald Sun, local Leader Newspapers and The Australian can be easily located through a subject search.

      

    Gale Literature Resource

    To access the following site, use the password: stjohns

    Online Reference Help

    Image from test-preparation.ca

                                       Image from test-preparation.ca

    Use the Online Reference Resources as reference tools to help you find an answer to a question  quickly. You can find information that is brief, concise and often a quick introduction to a topic.

    Reference resources such as Encyclopaedias, Thesauri and Maps, are the first place you can start your assessment. With these you will be able to define and clarify your research questions.

    Reference material are also available as print resources in the library. So come in and have a look at what is on display.

    Dictionaries

    English


    A Web of Online Dictionaries
    Includes links to dictionaries of the English Language (4th ed.), translators, and over 300 English, multilanguage, and specialized dictionaries and thesauri.
    http://www.yourdictionary.com

    Dictionary Link
    A “guide to free online dictionary and translation services. With definitions in most languages, thesaurus, word of the day & encyclopedia links.”
    http://www.dictionarylink.com/

    World Wide Words
    This site is about “ English words and phrases – what they mean, where they came from, how they have evolved, and the ways in which people sometimes misuse them.”
    http://www.quinion.com/words/

    A Online Graphical Dictionary

    This site allows you to see a map of the word, in any form, with synonyms and antonyms.

    http://www.visuwords.com/

    Maps


    Australian Government: Geoscience Australia.

    Maps of Australia, free to download.
    http://www.ga.gov.au/map/images.html

    National Geographic: Maps and Geography
    http://www.nationalgeographic.com/maps/

    The State Library of Victoria: Maps Collection
    http://www.slv.vic.gov.au/slv/maps/

    Government Sites

    Australian Government Information : National Library of Australia
    http://www.nla.gov.au/oz/gov/

    Australian Government Information
    http://www.fed.gov.au/KSP/

    Australian Bureau of Statistics
    http://www.abs.gov.au

    Thesauri

    Bartleby.com

    Provides online access to Roget’s Thesauri and other reference works.
    http://www.bartleby.com/thesauri/ 

    This site gives definitions as well as lots of alternatives:

    http://www.wordsmyth.net/

    Timelines

    AlternaTime
    A collection of timelines on the Web.

    Indigenous Australia Timeline

    Dreaming online

    The Timeline Index

    Australian History Timelines

    Timeline Maker



     

        

      Linksplus

      LinksPlus is a collection of educational website and fiction directories for five to nineteen year olds. It is designed to guide research and save time for students, teachers and librarians.

      Click on the link below:

      Linksplus

       

          

        History Resources

        This sitehas excellent resources especially for

        • Year 8 Night of the Notables.
        • Vikings

        Science Resources

        The Encyclopedia of Earth is an informative website packed full of news, articles, videos, resources, images and general information about places all across the globe. The website allows users to submit articles and information which are later branded with the 'trusted' label, once approved by the webteam. This is a great website that can really help pupils to expand their geographical knowledge.

        For more information, visit www.eoearth.org

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip