Parent ReadingJodi PicoultAlly CarterRobert MuchamoreMaggie StiefvaterLi CunxinRick RiordanTamora PierceJohn FlanaganAndy GriffithsEnglish Classics to ReadComing of Age BooksBooks to read if you like John Green
Search TipsOrganising and NotetakingHow to Write an EssayHow To Avoid PlagiarismDatabasesThere's More To GoogleSenior Guide to Writing Essays
Copyright Free Images, Music and VideosAlright to Copy?Referencing and Bibliographies
EvernotePreziPinterestTwitter
Google ChromeGoogle MailGoogle CalendarGoogle DriveGoogle DocsGoogle SlidesGoogle FormsGoogle SheetsGoogle ClassroomGoogle KeepGoogle Sites
Ipad FeaturesHow to Delete Photos from Your IpadAdvanced Tips for using Your IpadEssential Apps for teachersSixty Apps for teaching in Sixty MinutesIMovie AppMaking a Book Trailer using iMovie
Albert, The Curriculum ExpertMaking Interactive Videos using ClickviewInteractive Videos with Ed Puzzle
Mac Tutorials - Switch from WindowsMac Tutorials - BeginnerMac Tutorials - IntermediateMac Tutorials - Advanced
Tools to flip your classroom
Kahoot
This is the "Referencing and Bibliographies" page of the "woodlawnlibrary/home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

woodlawnlibrary/home  

This guide is the main site for St. John's College Woodlawn Library. Here you can find assistance with reading, research, referencing and the latest technology to use in the classroom.
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2017 URL: http://woodlawn.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Referencing and Bibliographies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Basic APA Referencing

Rules


There are some simple rules for referencing and citing using the American Psychological Association (APA) guidelines.


For example, did you know that your Reference List needs to be in alphabetical order? 

Do you know the difference between a Reference List and a Bibliography?

Referencing style differences

Whether your list of sources is called a reference list or bibliography will depend on the referencing style used in your subject. For History, for example, "bibliography" refers to the list of items you refer to in your assignment whereas for Psychology, this is called a "reference list".

Cited/not cited

Generally, a reference list contains only those sources you actually referred to in your assignment. So, for each resource on your list, there will be some citation in your assignment. Your marker will check these off as they read through your work

A bibliography, sometimes, is taken to be a list of all those sources you looked at. This list, also attached to the back of your assignment, contains all those books, articles, website, and so on, you cite in your assignment but also those ones you consulted but didn't actually cite in your assignment.

Citing Wikipedia

 

Examples of a reference Lists

Quick Examples for Creating a Reference List

APA Style

The main scholarly association for academic psychologists in the United States, the American Psychological Association (APA) has developed standardized methods for citing print and electronic sources used in research. Below are instructions according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition) and http://www.apastyle.org/.

Instructions

Alphabetize each entry in a works cited list by the first letter, ignoring the articles A, An, and The. Indent subsequent lines of entries one-half inch.

Names: Use initials for first and middle names.

Titles: For articles, chapters and books, capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle and proper nouns. Fully capitalize periodical titles.

Dates: Publication dates use the order year, month day. The access date uses the order month day year. If no publication date is available, use "n.d." in place of date.

Examples:

Journal Article

Pattern:

[Author last name], [First initial]. [Middle initial]. ([Publication year]). [Title of article]. [Title of journal], [Volume number]([Issue number]), [Page number starts]-[ends]. [Document Object Identifier]

Example:

Silva, L. (2007). Epistemological and theoretical challenges for studying power and politics in information systems. Information Systems Journal17(2), 165-183. [Document Object Identifier]

Journal Article w/ No Author

Pattern:

[Title of article]. ([Publication year]). [Title of journal], [Volume number]([Issue number]), [Page number starts]-[ends]. [Document Object Identifier]

Example:

Epistemological and theoretical challenges for studying power and politics in information systems. (2007). Information Systems Journal17(2), 165-183. [Document Object Identifier]

Online Magazine Article

Pattern:

[Author last name], [First initial]. ([Year], [Month]). [Article Title] [Title of magazine], [Volume number] ([Issue Number]).

Example:

Wood, L. (2007, February). Curiously strong teamwork. Business Week4023.

Magazine Article w/ No Author

Pattern:

[Title of article]. ([Year], [Month]). [Title of magazine], [Volume number] ([Issue Number]).

Example:

Curiously strong teamwork. (2007, February). Business Week4023, 90-92.

Online Newspaper Article

Pattern:

[Author last name], [First initial]. [Middle initial]. ([Year], [Month] [Day]). [Title of article]. [Title of newspaper].

Example:

Bodipo-Memba, A. (2007, February 21). AT&T, GM agrees to $1-billion telecommunications pact. Detroit Free Press.

Online Newspaper Article w/ No Author

Pattern:

[Title of article]. ([Year], [Month] [Day])] [Title of newspaper].

Example:

AT&T, GM agrees to $1-billion telecommunications pact. (2007, February 21). Detroit Free Press.

Book

Pattern:

[Author last name], [First initial]. [Middle initial]. ([Publication year]). [Title of work]. [Location]: [Publisher].

Example:

Melkman, A. (2006). Strategic customer planning. London, UK: Thorogood.

Online Book Chapter

Pattern:

[Author last name], [First initial]. [Middle initial]. ([Publication year]). [Title of chapter]. In, [Title of book] (pp. [Page number starts]-[ends]). [Location]: [Publisher].

Example:

Melkman, A. (2006). Introduction, summary and how to get the most out of this book. In, Strategic customer planning (pp. 1-18). London, UK: Thorogood.

ERIC Document

Pattern:

[Author last name], [First initial]. [Middle initial]. [Publication year]. [Title of Document]([Document or Report number]). [Place of Publication]: [Publishing Agency Name] (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. [ED# or EJ#]).

Example:

Naples, N. A. (2000). Economic restructuring and racialization: Incorporation of Mexicans and Mexican-Americans in the rural midwest. Working Paper. (Report WP-7). California Univ., San Diego, La Jolla: Center for Comparative Immigration Studies. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED466345).

Image

Pattern:

[Title of image]. ([Date of creation]).

Example:

Bush meets Italian president in Rome. (2005).

Video / Audio

Pattern:

[Title of video / audio]. ([Date of creation]).

Example:

Presidential and Vice Presidential debates - 1988. (1988).

Podcast

Pattern:

[Producer last name], [First initial]. [Middle initial]. (Producer) & [Presenter last name], [First initial]. [Middle initial]. (Presenter). ([Publication Year], [Month] [Day]). [Title of Podcast] [Type of podcast]. [Country of publication]: [Distributor].

Example:

Alper, B. (Producer) & Hayden, E. (Presenter). (2007, March 6). Prevention of HIV infection. Treatment of COPD. [DynaMed Podcast Program]. Ipswich, Massachusetts: EBSCO Publishing.

Conference Paper

Pattern:

[Author]. ([Year],). [Title of paper]. In Editor ([First initial, Last name]) (Ed.) [Title of conference proceedings] ([page numbers]). [Place of publication]: [Publisher]. [doi:xxx.xxxxxxx]

Example:

Kohout, J., Finno, A., & Hart, B. (2010). In Editor E. Fromm (Ed.) Can APA be a Peppered Moth? Evolving in Response to Environmental Change and Prospects for the Association (10-24). Washington, District of Columbia, US: American Psychological Association, Center for Workforce Studies.

Electronic books

Pattern:

[Author Last Name]’ [Author first name initials]. ([Date]). [Book Title] Retrieved from [URL]

Example:

Seaward, B. L. (1999). Managing Stress: Principles and Strategies for Health and Wellbeing. Retrieved from www.netlibrary.com

Electronic Book-Chapter

Pattern:

[Author Last Name]’ [Author first name initials]. ([Date]). [Title of Chapter] In [Book Title] (Chapter or Section number) Retrieved from [URL]

Example:

Seaward, B. L. (1999). “Managing Stress.” In Managing Stress: Principles and Strategies for Health and Wellbeing. (Chapter 1) Retrieved from www.netlibrary.com

Website

Pattern:

[Author Last Name], [Author First Name Initial]. ([Date of publication[). [Title of document]. Retrieved from [http://Web address]

Example:

IBM. (n.d.). Green electronics: designing for a smarter planet. Retrieved from http://www.ibm.com/smarterplanet/us/en/green_and_sustainability/article/green_electroni cs.html?re=ussph1.1

These are only basic examples of the APA style. More detailed information is available through the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association(6th edition) and http://www.apastyle.org/. In addition, a variety of third-party style guides and web sites can provide further assistance.

Always consult your library resources for the exact formatting and punctuation guidelines.

(from http://support.ebsco.com/help/?int=ehost&lang=en&feature_id=APA )

 

APA Citiation Guide

 

APA Citation Using Microsoft Word

More Help with APA Referencing

Using Microsoft Word and APA

Microsoft Office - Create a Bibliography

In Microsoft Office Word 2007, you can automatically generate a bibliography based on the source information that you provide for the document
 

Easy Bib

Another free site for creating bibliographies is http://www.easybib.com/

You can also create accurate APA style citations in seconds by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book.  

Once done, email your citations and then export your citations to EasyBib.com's popular bibliography management service.

Download the app at the iTunes App Store or at the Android Market.

EasyBib Add-on for Google Docs

  • EasyBib Docs Add-on
    Click this link to view a video that will show you how to install and use the EasyBib Add-on for Google Docs
 

The Magic of Zotero

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.


 

Harvard Referencing

 

Using Microsoft 10 and harvard Referencing

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip